PDA

View Full Version : Putting the fear of god into PC's

Crucias
08-24-2009, 05:34 PM
I have been running oWoD vampire for a couple years now and I am currently running an elder-level game set during world war two. It also has a potential Gehenna looming on the horizon, because canon exists so you can mess with it. Now, I have two groups of PCs playing this game on separate nights, but one of them is getting too big for their britches. A few of them have gone on diablerie binges and they have started hanging out with a bad crowd (The Black Hand) and I want to scare the hell out of em, without actually killing them. I prefer to avoid violence because they have the stats and numbers to hose pretty much anything that isn't ungodly strong that I throw at them. Does anyone remember a mean trick their storytellers used on them during an oWoD game that I may borrow? for the storytellers out there, I humbly ask your advice to screw with my PC's heads. thx in advance boyos.

MortonStromgal
08-25-2009, 01:06 PM
A vengeful cabal of mages comes to mind... reality bending is scary, when your not the one bending it.

Crucias
08-28-2009, 05:07 PM
Yeah mages are sick, but is there something scary and specific that an npc mage has ever used to wreck you? I don't know much about mage so I tend to just make up things that they can do in accordance with the basic ideas of magik.

Sascha
08-28-2009, 06:10 PM
The little things that can't be explained: like a momentary glimpse of a past kill ('specially if it's something the character feels remorse / regret over); a silent image begging for mercy; a kid running, only to pass through you and into the shadows; real scenery bleeding into waking nightmares.

A talented Mind mage is a devastating opponent. (Plus, watching elder Kindred jump at shadows is hai-larious ^_^)

JessHartley
09-09-2009, 11:44 AM