PDA

View Full Version : Any advice welcome

Spazzle
08-13-2009, 11:35 AM
After a long hiatus I started playing RPGs again. While I think my playstyle/personality are better as a player, for various reasons I've found myself in the DM seat (at least for now).

I chose to run a premade adventure (Trollhaunt Warrens) and its been fun so far. I've mostly got a handle of the rules (the mistakes are happening less often now) and the adventure hasn't been that difficult to run. That said, I am running into a couple of issues and I thought I'd see how other, more experienced DMs handled it.

1) Combat time. I play with one group and DM another. The one I'm playing in we can usually handle 3 combat encounters per session, with various non-combat encounters thrown in. For the one I'm DMing, we're lucky to get through a single encounter per session. I don't want to discourage talking OOC (I am a big fan of laughing and the social side of things) but I would like to move combat along a little faster. One thing I've done is announce not just the next person in combat, but also who the person after that is. (so they can start focusing on their next action) It may just be the chatty/ADHD nature of this group - but I thought I'd throw it out there for any suggestions if others have come across a similar situation.