View Full Version : help with spell/infusion
05-19-2009, 09:33 AM
in the monster entry for golem it says that a golem is immune to all spells that alow spell resistance.with some of the infusions for a artificer he can damage (as a sort of inflict spell) constructs, but in those infusions it states that spell resistance aplies.so now wich is true can or cannot a artificer damage a construct/golem with these infusions?
05-19-2009, 10:19 AM
Well, the letter of the law would seem to dictate that no, it would not effect them. However, what an artificer is seems to go with the spirit of 'yes'. As a GM, i would probably rule in favor of the character and allow them to effect them, perhaps granting the target a resistance roll where normally they would not have to make one... that seems to be a good compromise.
05-20-2009, 01:00 AM
golems are a special case. i would say no... but infusions that are close enough to a spell the golem is affected by, i would allow. also, some other artificer abilities might be applicable.
05-22-2009, 04:55 PM
The ECS puts forth, to paraphrase, that infusions are treated as spells in all ways that are not specifically cited as being different. Golems are a "race" with the construct type. Just because a spell damages creatures of a certain type does not mean that it will override specific resistances of a race of that type.
By the RAW, if an infusion allows spell resistance, golems with the standard immunity to magic extraordinary ability are immune to its effects. This doesn't mean that you can't rule otherwise in your game - it simply means it will be a house rule if you do so.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.